Apr. 14th, 2017


Apr. 14th, 2017 07:31 am
emeraldem: (Default)
[personal profile] emeraldem
Hi all! I'm a cis bi white woman who writes science fiction and fanfic, practices Wicca, and crochets stuff, though not as often as I'd like. Life keeps getting in the way.

I have bipolar mood disorder and I'm on the autism spectrum. Looking for people interested in writing, fandom/fanfic, LGBT issues, cats, mental illness/health, and the autism spectrum.

Also I love filking. And folk and classical music.
pockycrusader: (Default)
[personal profile] pockycrusader
Name: Pockycrusader (was also Pockycrusader on LJ)

Age: 32 and some change

Location: Eastern US, where all the lousy drivers seem to be

I am an anime/manga fan, avid reader, podcast addict, and professional cat servant. Right now, I'm in the process of deciding what kind of journal I'm going to keep, but for right now it seems to be a sounding board for my daily life. I tend not to post anything about political or social issues, but I am also an aspiring librarian and may post about issues facing libraries in the U.S. from time to time if I really feel like I need to talk about it.
fleeting: (Default)
[personal profile] fleeting
NAME: Lucy
AGE: 28
INTERESTS & HOBBIES: I'm into fandom roleplay on dreamwidth (I'm in a few games), making icons (I run [community profile] livebites with a friend), reading, and watching television. I attempt to be into knitting but I am Bad at it. I am trying to get back into fic writing, and will probably talk about that sometimes! I also really like my cat.
LOOKING FOR: People to read and interact with, mostly! I have all of three friends added and I'd like my subscription list to be more, like, active. I plan to get back into journaling as well so I'm doing this haha.
ANYTHING ELSE?: Can't think of anything!
ALSO KNOWN AS: [insanejournal.com profile] pluto

here i am

Apr. 14th, 2017 12:44 pm
thosehooves: (Default)
[personal profile] thosehooves
this is the first time i've introduced myself online like this.
i mostly go by S, am a mild and genderless beast, and post my original drivel here. i keep it curt. my work is a hybrid of nonsense and mysticism. here's a quick sample -- see how you like it:

i get on these kicks
where i experiment with exposing myself
to a pretty day. i open the curtain
just a little, then stare at the ray of light
on the floor from across the room,
a burning white line.
light, like plague, is airborne,
i must be getting a little of it if i stand over here;
it must settle on my skin like dust.
look! my kidneys aren't shutting down.
i am the picture of health.
i close the curtain.
i read my newspapers.

short, sweet, surreal. if you dig it, i'd love to have you.
(i should probably mention i curse semi-frequently.)
i had an LJ years ago. didn't like it, didn't get the hang of how to use it, didn't stay for long. i like DW, though, especially how small and tightly knit it is. my only complaint was that, until now, i was having a hard time finding people to subscribe to.
personal details? i have a lot of pets. i'm married. i have no established sleep schedule.
my pronouns? none. don't refer to me. i don't exist.
this is starting to get pretty long, but i love snakes. love snakes. love em. if you have a snake, and post pictures of your snake, i'd love to see your snake! hit me up, fellow.
i don't really do fanfiction, which seems pretty amok here, nor am i in fandoms because i live under a rock. no, i don't know what you're talking about. i don't know what character you're roleplaying here.. but it's fun to read if it's good. so if i subscribe to your stuff, don't expect me to have any idea about The Thing you're writing around. sorry.
thanks for reading. i might be shy, but i'd love to have you around.

globetrotter1: (Keep calm)
[personal profile] globetrotter1
Hello! Like many of you, I have just moved over from LJ, where I had been posting since 2000 (although very little in the last couple of years). I really want to get back into journaling and honestly, this is much more interesting than Facebook. My plan is to update DW regularly (I've already posted more in the past week than in the past couple of years on LJ, so I am cautiously optimistic that this is a feasible plan).

My interests are varied, but I am first and foremost a voracious reader. I'm always happy to see what others are reading and to add new books to read to my never ending list. Other interests include movies, Doctor Who, Netflix, TV, traveling and music. I love Doctor Who, but other than the occasional comment, I won't be clogging up your pages with it. I'm more likely to bore you with my reading.

My journal is friends only because I'm not a fan of drama. Other than that, what can I say? I'm a liberal Canadian woman and feminist. I rarely get political online because I'm a firm believer of "do not feed the trolls". Life is short, and I don't want to spend it arguing with people.
frostingpink: (Kiki hair blowing)
[personal profile] frostingpink
 Hello, there!

I haven't been on DW since last year, but decided to come back after I read the newsletter that came to my inbox. After reading it, I knew it was time to be social again. I haven't been on a social websites in years, as drama pissed me off and I decided to hibernate. 

My name is Merry, but I also go by 'Mer', and I'll be 27 in August. I keep forgetting it's not August yet and I have been frequently reminding myself since last September that I'm not 27. As for other worthy notes, I am a Democrat, mostly spiritual / confused about religion, open to anyone being themselves, am bi-asexual(mostly leaning towards men), and my brain tends to think in lovely ways, AKA mental illnesses and autism run rampant in my mind. 

For interests: Oriental culture (I live in the US and so this is like a novelty to me), old B&W movies, Alice in Wonderland (books, movies, Lewis Carroll, etc.), Tolkien, teaching myself Japanese badly,reading( classics, fantasy, parody, non-fiction, fiction), drawing, history (and my subscription to NatGeo History magazine!!!), art,  and CreateTV. (if CreateTV went off the air, I would probably cry as it's my favorite channel) You've Got Mail is my favorite movie, A Little Princess in my favorite book(tissues should be close even if it is a children's book), my favorite musician is Jimmy Buffett, and I still own a VCR and I use it.  I can't help it! I love old electronics for some reason. 

If you want to be friends, just say 'hi' and I'll talk at'cha later. ^_^



Apr. 14th, 2017 05:20 pm
8hyenas: (Default)
[personal profile] 8hyenas
First dreamwidth post! I'll try not to ditto my first lj entry, which embarrassed me so badly I had to start a new journal.

I'm 30 years old, cis female, asexual, mixed race.

I live in a very conservative and religious area of the US, while being none of those things. The majority of my entries are regarding my personal life, with a few posts about my neighborhood etc.

I only tend to lock (the few) posts that have personal identifying info in them, so if you want to take a look at my imported journal you'll see a pretty full view.



Apr. 14th, 2017 08:00 pm
openidwouldwork: (elder sign)
[personal profile] openidwouldwork
NAME: Kris
AGE: yes, well... 40

INTERESTS & HOBBIES: swimming, scuba-diving, reading, (Swedish) death metal
Have done SwimTreks, been on plenty of liveaboards and my bookshelfs are full...

LOOKING FOR: other swimmers, divers and metalheads lml
ANYTHING ELSE?: female, lage animal vet, childfree, catfree, single, sarcastic and cynic
ALSO KNOWN AS: [livejournal.com profile] openidwouldwork

Wassah! )
sravakavarn: (Default)
[personal profile] sravakavarn

 Hello, my name is C. Derick.  I am a poet, teacher, former professor, and podcaster from the deep South of the US; however, I have spent 1/5 of my life abroad.  In the past decade living and working in the Republic of Korea, Northern Mexico, and Egypt as well as traveling to China, Taiwan, Japan, the UAE, Germany, and Turkey. It seems like a privileged life and it is because I have work in international schools and do volunteer work, I get to travel a good bit without the normal wealth that requires.  

I write a lot about that.  About Buddhism.  About Poetry. Marxism.  Some pop culture issues.  

I am oddly political: a socialist in a kind of old school sense with makes me harder to categorize in contemporary politics.  

I am relocating the States after living abroad and will probably use this journal to help myself transition.

I was on LJ as sravakavarn, winegodeatsyou, and thesandsabrase between 2001 and literally yesterday. 

I podcast, edit a literary journal/blog publicly, and will be working at an International school in Utah in July, but am finishing up with Northern Africa. 

I am trying to broaden my exposure to English speakers in a more sustained form that facebook and twitter alone, but a less public one than my public blogs. 

Hope to meet some of you soon. 

tilmon: (Default)
[personal profile] tilmon
I'm Tilmon, and same name in LJ. And I'm terrible at making introductions.

I like to watch Japanese dramas and tokusatsu, though I rarely have time to watch much. In doramas, I tend to follow actors I've seen in toku. I especially like Seto Koji. Yes, even though I'm in my late 50s. Maybe particularly because I'm in my late 50s. Such a good boy. LOL. I know just enough Japanese to generally understand sentence structure but not enough to remember vocabulary without constantly reviewing. Hmm. I've liked Japanese shows and aesthetics since I was a little kid, and about 10 years ago, decided to indulge that liking.

If you want to commiserate on the current political nightmare, hey, I've lived in Texas most of my life and let me tell you, you never get used to the disappointment and just when you think things have hit bottom, some damn fool breaks out the shovels and makes a whole new deeper bottom.

But mostly, I want to talk about dorama, Japanese stages, Japanese language, and Japanese entertainment gossip. I don't know that many people in person who share any of those interests, so that's why I have a journal.

devilswings: (Default)
[personal profile] devilswings
NAME: Imani
AGE: 21
INTERESTS & HOBBIES: Writing (fanfiction and genre lit mostly) and video games (action-adventure, TPS, RPG, pretty strictly single player) are top two. I don't read as many Real Books as I should so suggestions are always welcome! Aside from that my fandoms are pretty stable; I don't tend to drop 'em nor do I add new ones very often. Currently I'm most into FFXV and Yugioh (all the series! DM and 5DS are my favorites but I like them all) but I'm always up to talk about anything in the full list on my profile. Occasionally I dip into wrasslin'. Music wise I love rock/metal and RNB (no matter the language), but if it's good, it's good.
LOOKING FOR: What type of journals are you looking for?
Preferably ones where we have similar interests, but even if we just share one or two, that's fine; I like reading about people with lives that aren't like mine.
ANYTHING ELSE?: I don't post a whole whole lot but feel free to message me anytime!
ALSO KNOWN AS: [tumblr.com profile] 323watts [archiveofourown.org profile] Reddish_Enemies [twitter.com profile] hanzo823 (close friends only but if we click I'm more than happy to add!)

Page generated Oct. 17th, 2017 12:58 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios